Maple Bourbon Sweet Potato Bisque

20130930-140249.jpg

So when we get in a recipe rut I usually turn to Pinterest for inspiration. Usually I find something that sounds incredible and tweak it so it fits into our lifestyle but every now and then you find a recipe that sounds perfect with little to no tweaking necessary. So thanks “How Sweet it is” for posting this Bourbon Sweet Potato Bisque:

http://www.howsweeteats.com/2013/02/bourbon-sweet-potato-bisque-with-brown-butter-cinnamon-sugar-croutons/

I’ve been dying to try it since I pinned it and imagine it will not disappoint. Here is my version, with a few minor tweaks:

20130930-135710.jpgNeeded:
3 large sweet potatoes peeled and cubed
1/2 one large red onion diced
1 cup of coconut milk
3 cups of veggie broth
1 tsp minced garlic
2 tiny shot bottles of maple bourbon
2 tbsp olive oil
2 tbsp of butter
Crushed red pepper, S&P, curry, cinnamon
Walnuts to garnish

So start by adding all the fat to a large soup pot once the butter melts down add onions and garlic, cook over med high heat for a few minutes then add the bourbon, sweet potatoes, coconut milk and veggie broth, pot a lid on that and let it come to a boil

20130930-135953.jpg (I cooked mine for about 20 minutes) then turn off the heat and check that the potatoes are fork tender if they are then it’s time to blend. I used my emersion blender to break down the potatoes. (Protip: make sure the blender is submerged completely otherwise you’ll be wall papering your kitchen with molten lava soup particles. Don’t ask me how I know, and just ignore that soup in my hair) I garnished it with cinnamon and walnuts.
So I knew the potatoes were gonna take some time to cook through and even though I love potato soup in any form, it’s always kind of a one note dish. I wanted something else on the side. So I decided on Brussels sprouts.

Most of us hated them as kids. I think this is bc they are shaped like tiny brains. And tasted exactly how I think tiny brains would taste. But a few years ago my brother brought some to a family dinner, tiny brains cooked it butter. I didn’t want to try them. I didn’t want to like them. But it kind of changed my mind on this super nutrient dense food. Turns out butter really does make everything better!

So today I made Cranberry Bacon Brussels.
Here’s what you need:
Brussels Sprouts, stemmed and halved (roughly a pound?)
2 stripes of bacon cooked and diced up small
1/2 red onion
Few handfuls of Cranberries fresh or dried (I used dried)
Few handfuls of Walnuts
2 tablespoons of butter

-sorry I’m bad with measurements, I’m am eye baller. But you can’t really go wrong here just toss in what sounds good. First melt the butter then add the onions, and Brussel, and bacon.

20130930-140912.jpgLet that cook for about ten minutes over med heat then add the berries and walnuts.

20130930-141055.jpgI then cooked it covered for a few minutes more just to make sure they would be tender all the way through, then I gave it a shake of salt and pepper and called it done.

20130930-141255.jpgWe will defiantly have left overs bc this makes for two very filling dishes. But I’m actually pretty stoked to have this sweet potato bisque with my coffee in the morning :)

One thought on “Maple Bourbon Sweet Potato Bisque

Leave a Reply

