Maple-Apple-Walnut-Salad + Shepard’s Pie

Rob’s birthday dinner!

This week we’re still cooking on a budget but I wanted to make a big birthday feast for Rob.

So for dinner we had a Maple Apple Walnut Salad and Sheperd’s Pie.

For the salad I bought whatever bag of salad was on sale +one green apple, and one cucumber.
– I already had red onions, Crasins, and walnuts at home. Just dice and toss in a bowl.

The dressing is also homemade but I made it a few weeks ago, it’s just a few spoonfuls of organic maple syrup mixed into salad vinegar. I just give the bottle a shake and toss it over top.
20130821-194718.jpg

(Looks fancy, by takes no time at all)

Sheperd’s Pie, or Cottage Pie is basically a meat casserole topped with mashed potatoes.

First preheat the oven to 375.
I then place potatoes in a pot with just enough water to cover. Set to a boil. In the meantime I diced up the leftover veg I had in my fridge which turned out to be half a red onion two halves of bell peppers, and some mushrooms. From the pantry I found a can dice tomatoes and some minced garlic.

I browned some grass fed beef in a pan, and added all the veg and let it cook down a bit. Then I set that to simmer and went back to the potatoes. I drained the water added about a 1/4 cup coconut milk and a sizable pat of butter (I don’t measure) then I salted and peppered and mashed. Then I transferred the meat to a casserole dish and topped it with the mashed taters popped this in the oven for about 20 minutes until it gets golden an bubbly.

It did make a feast and we ate way too much!

20130821-194746.jpg

One thought on “Maple-Apple-Walnut-Salad + Shepard’s Pie

  1. Pingback: Leftover Night – Shepard’s Pie* (Or, Farmer’s Pie) | Pixie In The Kitchen

Leave a Reply

