Spaghetti and Meatballs!

It is finally Saurday! This has been a long week for the Sandwells and we have a busy weekend ahead of us. Rob and I have both had friends visiting from afar, a wedding to attend, his birthday to celebrate, and then just the normal work and life and stuff. I wanted comfort food. So tonight’s din was spaghetti and meatballs.

For the meatballs I used 1/2 lb of ground beef an 1/2 lb of spicy Italian sausage from our butcher. To that I added garlic, one egg, some s&p and a little tomato sauce. Mixed together in a bowl, roll into balls place in a cookie sheet baked at 375 for about 20 minutes, tonight the sausage released a little fat as it cooked so we popped them in a skillet for a hot second to brown them. Then they were perfect!
20130824-201347.jpg

To cook the spaghetti squash you chop a large squash into two halves (just grab your sweet husband to do this, or your large kitchen machete.)
Scrap out the seedy bits and place cut side up in the micro. I like to cover it with a damp paper towel to keep it from drying out, I cook it at 6 minute intervals until its fork tender and easily scrapes into noodle form.
20130824-202030.jpg

For the sauce I heated a tiny bit of olive oil in a large skillet, then I added a very finely diced red onion, a few spoonfuls of garlic some diced mushrooms and let that cook down.
20130824-200037.jpg

I found some pepperoni in the fridge and decided to toss in a bit of that, along with a can of fire roasted tomatoes and a large can of gluten free spaghetti sauce, and let it heat through.
20130824-201619.jpg

Then we added all the components together + one large glass of red wine. A perfect comfort meal, all super easy to make!

20130824-202221.jpg

3 thoughts on “Spaghetti and Meatballs!

  1. This meal is incredible. I think it’s actually better than the Italian food I paid fifty bucks for last night, and it was actually Paleo, and I know I’ll feel better later after eating it instead of sick to my stomach. Thanks for making a great meal honey. I love coming home to food like this!

Leave a Reply

