My Fitness Pal.

When I started eating Paleo, I started using My Fitness Pal again. It was really helpful in the beginning because I was eating completely different foods and I had no idea how the calories added up. Another part of the app. was monitoring my weight.

I’ve had a lot of friends adopt this lifestyle and in the beginning the comments are all the same. “Sure I feel better but when will the weight disappear?” Or “I’ve lost a few pounds but my husband/boyfriend has lost three times that!”

I know from experience, it’s really easy to live and die based on what the scale tells you each morning. You’re either a winner or a loser in 10 seconds or less. For me whatever the scale would say would determine exactly how much I should punish or treat myself for the rest of the day.

Here is a picture of my weight loss graph over the last month.20130826-100616.jpg

The trend is down but it’s not a straight line. When you’re working towards a goal, that can be so discouraging.

In the beginning I weighed myself everyday. Up a half a pound, down a pound, up two pounds, and the emotions and self talk followed accordingly.

Now that let’s look at my graph since I started Paleo.20130826-100749.jpg

Clearly the trend is down.

The big picture is what matters. It took me a while to develop a healthy relationship with my scale. I accept now that it is just a tool, and it’s job is to measure my weight not to measure my worth as a person.

I don’t weigh myself everyday. If I’m up a few pounds, I think about what I’ve been putting in my body. For most of my life I was a fat person, because I ate like a fat person. I often go back and when the scale shows I’ve gained a pound or two and review what I’ve put in my body.

Have I gone back to eating cheeseburgers and ice cream? No. Then it’s probably just the natural fluctuation that happens daily to both fat and skinny people

Then I think about other factors. Have I been under stress? Gotten enough sleep? Controlled my portions? Exercised? Usually I can point to the indicator, but sometimes not. Weight loss is more then calories in calories out there are all kinds of things that effect your body chemistry.

So don’t sweat the small stuff.
Keep drinking water, keep feeding your body nutrient dense whole foods. Get some rest. Take care of your body and it will take care of you.

Hang in there in the short term, give your body a chance to change and adjust. Just because it doesn’t happen overnight doesn’t mean it isn’t happening.

Leave a Reply

