Honey Orange Chicken

Tonight Rob had to work late and I made honey orange glazed chicken thighs over roasted potatoes and onions.. Slightly charred. (Charred is a fancy word for burnt)

This is what I had on hand:

1 lb of chicken thighs
1 med size sweet potato
5-6 new potatoes
1 small red onion
1 cutie (small orange)
Honey
S&P
Cayenne
Olive oil

First I preheated the oven to 475, then I peeled and chopped a sweet potato, and I rustically chopped the new potatoes and part of a small red onion, I tossed a little olive oil over top and popped them in the oven. 20130905-211126.jpg

For the chicken I heated some olive oil over med heat until it got glossy and then I placed my chicken thighs in skin side down and cooked them for about 2 minutes on each side just to brown them. Then I placed them skin side down again and let them cook about 12-15 minutes on a low heat they buzzed and crackled in their juices and I started writing this blog post. Occasionally I poked them with tongs. 20130905-211230.jpg

When they came off the heat I placed them skin side up and seasoned them with S&P, cayenne a squeeze of honey and a squeeze of orange. 20130905-211357.jpg

I wanted to finish them in the oven so I pulled the taters out and tossed them (making sure they weren’t burning to the pan, a few of the onions were charred, turns out they are not the best food for roasting) and then I placed the chicken down on top. Back in the oven with the whole lot of them an let them cook for 10 minutes then flip the chicken and go 5 more.

I think the honey orange is going to taste great but the high sugar content caused it to blacken, next time around I’ll roast at a lower temp. Or for a shorter amount of time. Slightly charred but still pretty tasty. Don’t get discouraged when things don’t go according to the plan, that’s life. Eat dinner anyway.

I would recommend to let the chicken rest at least 5 minutes so you don’t loose the yummy juices inside. Enjoy!

20130905-211752.jpg

Leave a Reply

