Honey Glazed Pan Fried Pork Chops with Sweet Potato Hash

20130924-210851.jpg

Tonight I made Pork Chops and Sweet Potatoes.

The prep work was pretty easy. I cubed up two peeled sweet potatoes and a small red onion, and I made a glaze from gluten free soy sauce, a small amount of spiced rum, raw honey, salt, pepper, and crushed red pepper flakes.

I started the potatoes first because they’d take longer to cook to where I wanted them. I put some olive oil in a skillet with some minced garlic and let that sweat for a minute. Then I added the potatoes and onion with a little more oil and salt, pepper, and cayenne. I let that cook on medium heat and flipped it every couple of minutes.

While that was cooking I had another pan getting hot on a medium high burner. I sliced the fat off the edges of the chops and threw that in the hot skillet to render down and grease the pan, then I pulled that out and fed it to the dog. Then I put the two chops in the pan for a little over three minutes. Flipped them and gave them three minutes more. At this point the potatoes were pretty much done so I pulled and plated them. Then I turned the heat on the chops down a little to medium, added the glaze to the top of the chops, and flipped them again. I glazed the other side, gave them a minute, and flipped them again. I repeated this until I’d done two minutes glazed on both sides. I pulled them off the pan and let them sit for five minutes on a cutting board before slicing them. I served them on top of the potatoes and spooned out the last of the glaze from the bottom of the pan over the top.

This meal was fantastic. Crazy amounts of flavor. So good. The meat was cooked just a little more than I would have preferred, but it was still great. Next time I’d probably give the chops a little less time before I started glazing them. It made a huge amount of food, which we devoured, and was very very filling. This is also an easy meal to serve family style if you slice the meat like I did. Total cooking time, with prep, was less than forty five minutes. And the list of ingredients was pretty slim. Generally, I try to avoid soy products, but I figured a few tablespoons of gluten free soy sauce every once in a while probably won’t kill me. There are lots of other things you could make a glaze from, that’s just what I happened to have on hand.

Hope you give it a try!

Leave a Reply

