Chicken Breast and Squash in Butter Sauce

20130927-204805.jpg

Full disclosure, this is not health food.

Ok. Maybe it is. After all, it is fresh vegetables and lean protein. But it’s also cooked in a lot of butter. Like, more than a little. A lot. And even if I’m now eating a diet high in fats, and even if I’m losing weight doing so, I just can’t think of a dish with that much butter in it as somehow “good for me.” And maybe that’s just a matter of perception. But it was also maybe one of the best meals I’ve ever made. So take that for what it’s worth.

I started with two boneless skinless chicken breasts, two zucchini, and a yellow squash. I used roll butter and minced garlic, and salt, pepper, cayenne, and cinnamon. That’s right. Cinnamon. #getonmylevel

I started by slicing the squash and zucchini. Think like maybe half dollar thickness, maybe a little thicker. I tossed that in a bowl for a second while I melted two tablespoons of butter in a pot with some minced garlic on medium heat. You want the garlic to sweat and release a lot of flavor, not burn. When that was all melted I tossed in the sliced zucchini and squash with some salt and another tablespoon of butter and threw on a lid.

I pounded the chicken breasts a little with a meat tenderizer just to flatten them out some, then I seasoned them with salt, pepper, cayenne, and cinnamon, and added them to another pan on medium heat. I let that cook for about four minutes, then I flipped it and gave it four more. All the while occasionally stirring the veg and then covering it back up.

After the chicken had done four on each side I flipped it again and started flipping it at one minute intervals. Twice on each side, while stirring the veg, then I plated the veg and the chicken and added one more tablespoon of butter to the pan I cooked the chicken in, stirred it up as it melted, and poured that over the whole dish.

In the end I had an amazing plate of the most delicious sautéed squash and zucchini with two fantastically tender chicken breasts covered in melted butter. It was pretty awesome. And we ate it all.

I don’t think I’m gonna lose any weight eating this meal, but man it tasted good. And seriously, if four tablespoons of butter are the worst thing I eat all week, I think I’ll be ok. And it was just so crazy good. For reals. The flavors were perfect together, I couldn’t get enough of the squash and zucchini, and there were no leftovers for tomorrow.

I don’t put this much butter in every meal. In fact I try to avoid butter, despite it’s possible nutritional value, just because I try to avoid dairy altogether. I would have felt better doing it with olive oil than butter, but man, butter tastes damn good.

And you just can’t argue with that.

Leave a Reply

