Pantry soup

   

Hope everyone is doing well out there! We’ve been keeping busy this summer and today was no exception. Summer isn’t really soup season.. But I had lots to do around the house and errands to run and it’s just so easy, this morning during J’s nap I took an inventory of what was left in the pantry (odd assortment, bc its grocery shopping day) so I diced up some green onions, a red onion a couple bell peppers, and 4 or 5 potatoes (not pictured) I tossed all my veg in a soup pot and set it aside while J and I ran our errands. 

Later when we got home I browned up some ground beef and added it to my veg mix with a couple cans of tomatoes, some chicken broth, and fajita sauce (easy flavor, you need something with some punch bc potatoes make it kind of bland) brought the whole thing to a boil for about 20 minutes and then let it simmer until Rob got home.

After letting simmer I added a splash of vinegar from a jar of banana peppers, it needed just a bit of acid to balance it. 

We eat soup all year round bc it cleans out the pantry. This is an easy base recipe but you could sub in or out almost any ingredients. Ah the magic of a stew pot. Enjoy!  

 

Leave a Reply

