Smashed potatoes (not mashed) 

  
So the other day I was cooking some fish 

(This fish to be exact) 

  
I really love the interesting flavors I find at our fish counter, this was tilapia coated with some kind of tex-mex breading, sounds weird but it was amazing. 

Anyway it needed a side dish and our pantry was sparse. I preheated the oven to 400 and I found a few red potatoes cut them into 2-3 pieces and put them in a pot of water and set to boil. I let them go until they were nearly tender enough to cut with a fork, then I pulled them out with tongs, placed them on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper, then smashed them with the bottom of a cup.  In a measuring cup I melted several tablespoons of butter added a healthy amount of minced garlic and cilantro leaves and poured it over top. Season with salt and pepper and popped them in the oven for 20. These went great together. Easy and filling. 

Leave a Reply

