Tater tot casserole and family reunion :) 

#churchpicnicpotluck #Goodeats 


So every year the first Sunday in August is the Sandwell/Snodgrass family reunion. And maybe the most epic church picnic pot luck event of the year. 😋 This year I had to miss out. (We’re in the home stretch of this twin pregnancy and Sunday’s are my rest day I really try to lay down for most of the day to let my body recover and recharge for the next week) -so Rob went without me. 

However I was totally in the mood for some classic pot luck casserole, so I made a quick tater tot casserole. We make a slightly spicy version but there are roughly a million versions of this casserole on Pinterest each more bubbly and cheese filled then the last. 

Here’s whatcha need:

1 lb ground beef

1 red bell pepper

1 green bell pepper

1 red onion 

Several jalapeño’s (choose how many you want) 

1 small pkg of shredded pepper jack cheese

6 tbsp of butter

2-4 tbsp flour (I’ve never measured) 

1 cup sour cream

Hot sauce of your choice

Worstershire sauce

Frozen tater tots

-preheat your oven to 425, and then set to work browning your beef. I dice the veggies while the meat browns, then I add a few splashes of hot sauce and worstershire sauce before I remove the beef from the pan. Then I add the veg with a couple tbsp’s of butter until they get soft. Then melt the rest of the butter and add the flour stir it in and then add the sour cream, and it turns into a gravy (more hot sauce if you want here) The meat gets added back in and then it all goes in a casserole dish together.

Top this mixture with pepper jack cheese and then line the top with frozen tater tots. Pop it in the oven for about 20 minutes until the tots are browned and the cheese is bubbly and I promise you’ll never bring home leftovers. 

Speaking of leftovers…


My hubby brought me home an entire plate of desserts from the reunion! (He knows it’s my favorite part ❤ ) 

Now I will for sure not be able to move for the rest of the day! 

What is your favorite potluck dish?? 

Leave a Reply

